Lady Vikings hosts Harrisburg in opener


Vikings junior pitcher Nina Aaron

The Siuslaw Vikings softball team returns to the Sky-Em League with a veteran team and a seasoned head coach.

Vikings coach Sean O'Mara has settled on a 12-player roster that includes 6 seniors, 2 juniors, 3 sophomores and freshman phenom Bailey Overton.

All six juniors on last year's roster return, including outfielders Angela Bartlett, Lupita Figueroa, Audrey Lowder and Alyssa Richards, catcher Lexie Smith and infielder Hayley Meier.

Junior pitcher Nina Aaron — the Lady Vikings' top pitcher from last season — and junior designated-hitter Liz Rosinbaum also return.

Aaron was second-team all-league pitcher last spring, while her batterymate, Smith, was honorable mention.

Siuslaw was 5-18 last season, including 4-11 in its final tour of the Far West League.

The Lady Vikings open their season Wednesday in a nonleague game at Harrisburg. First pitch is 4 p.m.

Siuslaw has its home opener Wednesday, hosting Sutherlin in a nonleague doubleheader at 3 p.m. at the Siuslaw Softball Field.

VIKINGS VARSITY ROSTER
Freshman
Bailey Overton, infielder
Sophomores
Adrianna Edwards, infielder
Lizbeth Garcia, infielder
Savannah Morris, outfielder
Juniors
Nina Aaron, left-handed pitcher
Liz Rosinbaum, designated-hitter
Seniors
Angela Bartlett, outfielder
Lupita Figueroa, outfielder
Audrey Lowder, outfielder
Hayley Meier, infielder
Alyssa Richards, outfielder
Lexie Smith, catcher
Coach: Sean O'Mara
Assistants: Ashlee Cole, Jamie Hunt, Jodi O'Meara, Kasey Strenke, Kim Gibson, Shari Fisher

2019 SIUSLAW SCHEDULE
Record: 0-0 overall, 0-0 in Sky-Em League
Nonleague
Wednesday, March 13 — at Harrisburg, 5 p.m.
Thursday, March 14 — Sutherlin (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, March 19 — at Pleasant Hill, 4:30 p.m.
Friday, March 22 — Pleasant Hill, 5 p.m.
Saturday, March 23 — Phoenix (DH), noon
Tuesday, April 2 — Douglas (DH), 3 p.m.
Sky-Em League
Tuesday, April 9 — at Marist, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 12 — Junction City (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 16 — Cottage Grove, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 19 — at Elmira (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 23 — at Marshfield, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 26 — Marist (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 30 — at Junction City, 5 p.m.
Friday, May 3 — at Cottage Grove (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7 — Elmira, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 10 — Marshfield (DH), 3 p.m.

VIKINGS JV ROSTER
Freshmen
Alexis Dalrymple
Skyla Ecker
Maggie Manning
Brooke Olsen
Liz Ocon
Kelly Phillips
Jasmin Rawlins
Sophomores
Kya Blake
Paige Mooney
Junior
Margot Fleming
Seniors
Casey Arvilla
Savannah Mathis
Coach: Danielle Hanson




MORE STORIES

Lady Viking sophomores sizzle in Icebreaker

Siuslaw's Brea Blankenship (800) and Gracie Freudenthal (300 hurdles) post 4A state bests.

Lady Vikings host Newport in season opener

Siuslaw will face four teams from last season's 4A quarterfinals (Newport, Stayton, Marist Catholic,...

Vikings will defend title at Bandon Dunes

Siuslaw hosts Newport on Wednesday, Dec. 4, to open 2019-20 season.

Bake sale to benefit Vikings soccer program

SYSA to hold both the sale and cleat exchange from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Thursday at Pacific Frameworks.