Vikings will defend title at Bandon Dunes


Siuslaw coach Dylan Perry

The Siuslaw Vikings boys basketball team will defend its title at the Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational during next season's preleague schedule.

Siuslaw won this past season's tournament with a 62-43 victory over Douglas and a 54-33 victory over host Bandon.

Siuslaw is scheduled to open its season Wednesday, Dec. 4, hosting Newport at Glenn Butler Court. Tipoff is 7:15 p.m.

Other preleague home games include Tuesday, Dec. 10, against Sutherlin and Tuesday, Jan. 7, against Taft.

A home endowment game Friday, Dec. 27, with Douglas is still pending approval by the Oregon School Activities Association.

The Bandon tournament is Jan. 3-4, with opponents to be determined.

The Vikings finished the 2018-19 season 5-19 overall, 0-10 in the Sky-Em League and ranked No. 34 among 34 OSAA Class 4A schools.

Siuslaw graduates two seniors from its season-ending roster, Jordan Taniguchi and Dylan Wynn.

Freshman Braydon Thornton and sophomore Jacob Foskett were among the Vikings' top players, both earning all-league honorable mention.

Head coach is Dylan Perry, assisted by Ty Perry. Ryan Stahel is junior varsity coach.

First practice is Monday, Nov. 18, nearly eight months away.

VIKINGS 2019-20 SCHEDULE
As of March 20, 2019, from OSAA website
Monday, Nov. 18 — First practice.
Nonleague
Wednesday, Dec. 4 — Newport, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 6 — at Pleasant Hill, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 10 — Sutherlin, 7:15 p.m.
Thursday-Friday-Saturday, Dec. 12-13-14 — Junction City/Harrisburg tournament, to be determined
Tuesday, Dec. 17 — at Stayton, 7 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 20 — at South Umpqua, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 27 — Douglas, 7:15 p.m., pending endowment game
Friday-Saturday, Jan. 3-4 — Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational, to be announced
Tuesday, Jan. 7 — Taft, 7:15 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, Jan. 10-11 — Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover, Marshfield, to be determined
Sky-Em League
Friday, Jan. 17 — at Cottage Grove, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 21 — Marist Catholic, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 24 — at Marshfield, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 28 — Elmira, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 — at Junction City, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 4 — Cottage Grove, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 7 — at Marist Catholic, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11 — Marshfield, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 14 — at Elmira, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18 — Junction City, 7:15 p.m.




MORE STORIES

Rannow, Freudenthal post 4A bests at CCI

Siuslaw sophomore Skyler Loomis moves into school top 10 in javelin, while Anne Wartnik leads Vikings...

Elmira takes two from Vikings, 5-2 and 10-0

Siuslaw at Marshfield on Tuesday, home for doubleheader with Marist Catholic on Friday.

Vikings: Goodbye Clatskanie, hello Mac-Hi

Siuslaw football drops date with Tigers, adds game with Pioneers for 2019 season.

Lady Vikings conquer Cottage Grove, 11-1

Nina Aaron tosses 3-hit complete game, goes 2-for-2 at the plate with a triple.