Lady Vikings host Newport in season opener


Chad Smith will be in his second season as head coach of football and girls basketball.

The Siuslaw Vikings girls basketball team will play six games next season against teams who made it to the Oregon School Activities Association Class 4A state quarterfinals this past season.

The Lady Vikings will open against state semifinalist Newport at 5:45 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 4, at Glenn Butler Court.

Siuslaw visits state quarterfinalist Stayton on Tuesday, Dec. 17.

The Lady Vikings also have two games each with fellow Sky-Em League foes Marist Catholic and Marshfield. Marist Catholic lost in the state finals to Banks, 51-48, while Marshfield, ranked No. 1 most of the season, lost to Marist Catholic in the quarterfinals, 45-40.

Other preleague home games include Tuesday, Dec. 10, against Sutherlin and Tuesday, Jan. 7, against Taft.

A home endowment game Friday, Dec. 27, with Douglas is still pending OSAA approval.

The Vikings finished the 2018-19 season 5-19 overall, 1-9 in the Sky-Em League and ranked No. 27 among 34 OSAA Class 4A schools.

Siuslaw graduates four seniors from its season-ending roster, Alyssa Richards, Hailee Edgerly, Lillian Wenham and Madison Reynolds.

Sophomores Gracie Freudenthal and Lindsey Long were among the Vikings' top players, both earning all-league honorable mention.

Head coach is Chad Smith (assisted last season by Chris Johnson). Sarah Truax is junior varsity coach.

First practice is Monday, Nov. 18, nearly eight months away.

VIKINGS 2019-20 SCHEDULE
Monday, Nov. 18 — First practice
Nonleague
Wednesday, Dec. 4 — Newport, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 6 — at Pleasant Hill, 6 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 10 — Sutherlin, 5:45 p.m.
Thursday-Friday-Saturday, Dec. 12-13-14 — Junction City/Harrisburg tournament, to be determined
Tuesday, Dec. 17 — at Stayton, 5:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 20 — at South Umpqua, 6 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 27 — Douglas, 5:45 p.m., pending endowment game
Friday-Saturday, Jan. 3-4 — Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational, to be announced
Tuesday, Jan. 7 — Taft, 5:45 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, Jan. 10-11 — Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover, Phoenix, to be determined
Sky-Em League
Friday, Jan. 17 — at Cottage Grove, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 21 — Marist Catholic, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 24 — at Marshfield, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 28 — Elmira, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 — at Junction City, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 4 — Cottage Grove, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 7 — at Marist Catholic, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11 — Marshfield, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 14 — at Elmira, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18 — Junction City, 5:45 p.m.




MORE STORIES

Jesse Schutte takes mulligan on induction

Vikings golf star will defer joining Siuslaw Hall of Fame until 2020.

U.S. Senior Open fits Bob Rannow to a tee

Ocean Dunes Golf Links' PGA professional goes off at 4:41 a.m. PDT Thursday, 10:16 a.m. PDT Friday.

Beachcomber grabs early league lead at 2-0

ACC, Welton Construction each go 1-1 and Lofy Construction 0-2 on opening night.

For Sam Johnson, Vikings, it was plus-plus

Siuslaw graduate will be a first-year head coach as well as first-year math teacher at his alma mater...