Vikings get invites to Meet of Champions

Rachelle Campbell

Six track and field athletes from Siuslaw Middle School have earned spots in the Meet of Champions, set for Thursday, May 23, at Corvallis High school.

Athletes include Jacob Blankenship (800 meters), Jonathan Rose (discus), Sam Ulrich (800) and Jaden Welker (200, 400).

Noel Hernandez and Preston Theiman are on the 4x100 relay team with Ulrich and Welker.

The team is coached by Rachelle Campbell and her son, Sean Michael Campbell.

"Each of these kids had to meet a qualifying time for the event they are participating in," Sean said. "It's sort of like a state meet.

"I'm excited to see how they do. It's a big meet with schools from all over the state. Since there's no classifications, they compete against all ages and school sizes."

Rose won the eighth-grade discus with a personal-record throw of 125 feet, 8 inches at the Far West League Middle School District Championships on May 3 at the Steve Prefontaine Track in Coos Bay.

Ulrich won the eighth-grade 800 in 2:21.68a, with Blankenship third in a PR 2:27.08a.

Welker was second in the eighth-grade 400 in a PR 59.67a and third in the 200 in 26.87a.

Welker, Theiman, Ulrich and Hernandez won the 4x100 relay in 49.25a.

Invitations to the Meet of Champions are based on season bests, not from performances at district championships.

The Siuslaw shared first place in district in eighth-grade boys with North Bend with 142 points. North Bend swept the other three divisions — boys seventh grade, girls seventh grade and girls eighth grade.


Trent Reavis third in both shot put, discus

Siuslaw graduate also has a personal best in the hammer at Northwest Athletic Conference championships.

Vikings salute letterwinners, all-league picks

INCLUDED: Siuslaw's tentative 21-game schedule for the 2020 season.

Conlee, Soran stepping down from SABC

Siuslaw Athletic Booster Club will need to fill several positions for 2019-20 school year.

Vikings fan? Here are 3 great events for you

Booster club meeting, auction-dinner planning committee meeting and benefit car wash all on the docket...