Vikings salute letterwinners, all-league picks


Siuslaw coach Tom Shinn

The Siuslaw Vikings baseball team well recognize the good that came from a tough season at an awards banquet tonight.

"I do not do a team MVP or other awards like that," Vikings coach Tom Shinn said. "Our varsity letterwinners will be recognized, as well as those that were on the JV."

The Vikings are losing three players to graduation, Tim Lowder, Jordan Taniguchi and Mapleton's Gabe Simington.

Simington, a four-year starter, was one of five Vikings to garner all-Sky-Em League honors this season.

"I am proud of our players who received all-league recognition," Shinn said. "In a league like the Sky-Em, with so many good teams and players, it is quite an achievement to be recognized by the coaches in the league.

"Our players should be proud. I know that I am proud of them."

Simington and junior infielder Jared Northrop were second-team all-league, while sophomore catcher Elijah Blankenship, junior infielder Zach Stinger and junior utility player Caleb Hennessee were honorable mention.

Seven of nine starters return next spring for Shinn's third season leading the Siuslaw program.

Other members of the varsity this past season include sophomores Chayton James (OF/3B), Clay Kramer (OF/RHP) and Dalton Stinger (RHP/Utility) and junior Clayton Remilong (OF/INF).

The Vikings are scheduled to open the 2020 season with a doubleheader Tuesday, March 17, at Sutherlin. First pitch is 3 p.m.

First home game is Tuesday, April 7, when Siuslaw hosts South Umpqua at 4:30 p.m.

VIKINGS' 2020 BASEBALL SCHEDULE
As posted on OSAA.org, 5/21/2019
Nonleague
Tuesday, March 17 — at Sutherlin (DH), 3 p.m.
Monday, March 30 — at Harrisburg, 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 1 — at Pleasant Hill, 5 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7 — South Umpqua, Dodson Field, 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 8 — Pleasant Hill, Dodson Field, 5 p.m.
Sky-Em League
Tuesday, April 14 — Marist Catholic, Dodson Field, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 17 — at Junction City (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 21 — at Cottage Grove, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 24 — Elmira (DH), Dodson Field, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 28 — Marshfield, Dodson Field, 5 p.m.
Friday, May 1 — at Marist Catholic (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, May 5 — Junction City, Dodson Field, 5 p.m.
Friday, May 8 — Cottage Grove (DH), Dodson Field, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, May 12 — at Elmira, 5 p.m.
Friday, May 15 — at Marshfield (DH), 3 p.m.




MORE STORIES

Jesse Schutte takes mulligan on induction

Vikings golf star will defer joining Siuslaw Hall of Fame until 2020.

U.S. Senior Open fits Bob Rannow to a tee

Ocean Dunes Golf Links' PGA professional goes off at 4:41 a.m. PDT Thursday, 10:16 a.m. PDT Friday.

Beachcomber grabs early league lead at 2-0

ACC, Welton Construction each go 1-1 and Lofy Construction 0-2 on opening night.

For Sam Johnson, Vikings, it was plus-plus

Siuslaw graduate will be a first-year head coach as well as first-year math teacher at his alma mater...