Lona Dengler joins Vikings coaching staff


Lona Dengler, new assistant volleyball coach for Vikings

Siuslaw graduate Lona Dengler has been named assistant volleyball coach of the Vikings, district superintendent Andy Grzeskowiak announced Thursday.

Dengler played softball and volleyball for the Vikings, graduating from Siuslaw in 2013.

She played collegiate softball at Southwestern Oregon Community College and at Humboldt State.

Dengler recently has been an assistant softball coach at SWOCC and currently is helping coach the Siuslaw Baseball Softball Association's 18-under summer girls softball team, known as the Bandits.

Dengler will be joining Siuslaw Middle School this fall as a physical education teacher.

VOLLEYBALL (OSAA.org, 5/22/2019)

  • Monday, Aug. — First practice.
  • Thursday, Aug. 29 — at North Bend, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 30 — vs. Douglas, tba; vs. Bandon, tba
  • Thursday, Sept. 5 — at Pleasant Hill, 6 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 12 — Sutherlin, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 19 — at Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m., Sky-Em League opener
  • Saturday, Sept. 21 — at Sisters Tournament
  • Tuesday, Sept. 24 — Marist, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 26 — at Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 1 — Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 3 — at Junction City, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 5 — at Junction City Tournament
  • Tuesday, Oct. 8 — Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 10 — at Marist, 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 15 — Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 17 — at Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 19 — at Marshfield Tournament
  • Tuesday, Oct. 22 — Junction City, 6:30 p.m.



MORE STORIES

Vikings fans, players get in gear for season

Siuslaw fundraiser raises $6,250 for new helmets thanks to 88 supporters.

Soccer has some Power and a Night Out

Registration for Siuslaw Youth Soccer Association fall season gets underway in earnest.

Welton expands lead, ACC moves to second

League's Home Run Derby is 10 a.m. Saturday at Miller Park.

Sam Johnson expects Vikings to aim high

'This is a season we fully expect to win every game we play in,' says Siuslaw's first-year coach.