Vikings fans, players get in gear for season


Siuslaw started leasing new helmets last season (4 Elijah Blankenship, 66 Matt Horillo, 5 Camp LaCouture, 33 Skyler Loomis).

The Siuslaw Vikings football program scored a big win this week, surpassing its goal of raising $6,000 for new football helmets.

The WeFund4U.com fundraiser collected $6,250 thanks to 88 supporters, including Erickson Cutting Inc., which gave $500.

First-year coach Sam Johnson says all the money will go to protective gear, specifically new helmets.

"We're going to lease helmets so we can get the nicest helmets every year," Johnson said. "(Former coach) Chad (Smith) started that last year, and we started it at Pleasant Hill.

"It turns out being cheaper than buying the nicest new helmets, then trying to refurbish them."

It will put the players in the best possible head gear every year.

"You see how cautious people are now to protect heads with the CTE coming out," Johnson said. "We have to put the kids in the best helmets possible."

CTE is chronic traumatic encephalopathy, a disease from repeated head injuries that worsens over time.

"We'll probably go to shoulder pads, too," Johnson said. "It gets kids safe. I'd rather have kids safe than save a few pennies here or there."

Judging from turnout, the team will need more helmets and shoulder pads than in recent years.

"We have 35 out for the football program," Johnson said. "I expect when we have summer camp (in mid August), welcome to all players, all ages, I expect to get another 10 out.

"When school starts, I expect a couple more. When all is said and done, we should be well over 45."

NOTES

A list of WeFund4U supporters is online at https://wefund4u.com/fundraiser/siuslaw-football-fundriaser/ ...

The team will have a minicamp Monday through Wednesday next week, with players staying overnight Monday and Tuesday at the high school gym ...

After the mini-camp, the team is off until Monday, Aug. 5 ...

VIKINGS VARSITY SCHEDULE

  • Monday, Aug. 19 — First practice.
  • Saturday, Aug. 24 — Blue-Gold Game, Hans Petersen Field, time to be announced
  • Friday, Aug. 30 — Jamboree, Hans Petersen Field, 11 a.m. (Bandon, Marshfield, Pleasant Hill and Siuslaw)
  • Friday, Sept. 6 — at Elmira, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 13 — at Philomath, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 20 — Newport, 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Sept. 28 — McLoughlin/Griswold, Madras High School, 4 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 4 — Harrisburg, 7 p.m. (league opener)
  • Friday, Oct. 11 — at Santiam Christian, Adair Village, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 18 — Pleasant Hill, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 25 — La Pine, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 1 — at Sutherlin, 7 p.m.

VIKINGS JV SCHEDULE

  • Friday, Aug. 30 — Jamboree at Hans Petersen Field.
  • Thursday, Sept. 5 — Elmira, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Sept. 16 — Philomath, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Sept. 23 — at Newport, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Sept. 30 — Marshfield, 6 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 7 — at Harrisburg, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 14 — Santiam Christian, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 21 — at Pleasant Hill, 5 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 28 — at La Pine, 5 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 4 — Sutherlin, 5:30 p.m.



MORE STORIES

Siuslaw secures Nick Lutz Invitational title

Vikings' Yoskar Delamora, Mason Buss and Elijah LaCosse all win individual titles.

Lady Vikings' Overton, Muller win titles

Dual leads Siuslaw girls to fourth-place finish in 16-school Nick Lutz Invitational.

Cottage Grove beats Lady Vikings, 63-31

Siuslaw next hosts Marist Catholic on Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.

Vikings clip Lions on last-second shot in OT

Siuslaw next hosts Marist Catholic at 5:45 p.m. Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.