Vikings to host 4-day youth football camp


The Siuslaw Vikings' 27th annual football camp for Grades 1-12 kicks off this coming Monday at the high school practice field.

The four-day camp — Aug. 12-15 — has three sessions, 3:15 p.m. to 4 p.m. for Grades 1-2, 4:15 p.m. to 6 p.m. for Grades 3-8 and 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. for Grades 9-12.

First-year Vikings coach Sam Johnson will conduct the sessions for the two older groups, while veteran assistant coach Gerald Fleming will run the camp for Grades 1-2.

Fee is $10, which includes a T-shirt while supplies last. A registration table will be set up at the field.

First practice for the high school team is Monday, Aug. 19. The Blue-Gold Game is planned for the Saturday of that week.

2019 SIUSLAW VIKINGS FOOTBALL SCHEDULE

  • Saturday, Aug. 24 — Blue-Gold Game, Hans Petersen Field.
  • Friday, Aug. 30 — Jamboree, Hans Petersen Field, 11 a.m. (Bandon, Marshfield, Pleasant Hill)
  • Friday, Sept. 6 — at Elmira, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 13 — at Philomath, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 20 — Newport, 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Sept. 28 — McLoughlin/Griswold, Madras High School, 4 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 4 — Harrisburg, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 11 — at Santiam Christian, Adair Village, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 18 — Pleasant Hill, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 25 — La Pine, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 1 — at Sutherlin, 7 p.m.



MORE STORIES

Bob Rannow qualifies for Boeing Classic

Florence golfer will tee up with such greats as John Daly, Fred Couples, Davis Love III, Mark O'Meara...

Vikings fans note: Sportsmanship required

New state law mandates OSAA and member schools rein in bad behavior at games.

Miller League tournament set for Saturday

Pool play games are 8 a.m., 9:30 a.m. and 11 a.m., followed by double-elimination championship play at...

Bob Rannow qualifies to qualify for classic

Florence golfer tees off Tuesday with goal of playing in Champions Tour's Boeing Classic Aug. 19-25.