Lady Vikings sweep both Bandon, Douglas


 

Vikings senior Mia Collins and freshman Desi Tupua

The Siuslaw Vikings volleyball team continued its strong start to the season with a pair of sweeps Friday in nonleague matches.

The Lady Vikings, who pushed North Bend to the limit Thursday night at North Bend before falling in five, beat Class 2A Bandon 3-0 and Class 3A Douglas 3-0 at Glenn Butler Court.

Siuslaw beat Bandon by scores of 25-15, 25-12, 25-10 and Douglas by scores of 25-20, 25-14, 25-11.

Senior outside hitter Mia Collins powered the Lady Vikings against Bandon with 12 kills, 7 aces and a block.

Kya Blake had 9 kills and 5 digs, Delaney Foglio 3 kills and 4 blocks and Hayden Muller 5 digs and 2 service aces.

Against Douglas, Collins had 9 kills, 4 digs and 2 blocks, Blake 7 kills, Foglio 5 kills and 5 blocks, Muller 14 digs and 4 service aces, Lindsey Long 10 digs and Elissa Hurley 4 kills, 2 service aces and 5 blocks.

Collins has 33 kills in three matches this season, Blake 23.

The Lady Vikings play two more nonleague matches before starting Sky-Em League play Sept. 19 at Cottage Grove.

Siuslaw plays at Pleasant Hill at 6 p.m. Thursday, then completes preleague play with a home match at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 12, against Sutherlin.

2019 SIUSLAW SCHEDULE
Record:
2-1 overall, 0-0 Sky-Em League, 2-1 nonleague
Nonleague
Thursday, Aug. 29 — at North Bend 3, Siuslaw 2 (16-25, 25-18, 19-25, 25-19, 15-13)
Friday, Aug. 30 — Siuslaw 3, Bandon 0 (25-15, 25-12, 25-10)
Friday, Aug. 30 — Siuslaw 3, Douglas 0 (25-20, 25-14, 25-11)
Thursday, Sept. 5 — at Pleasant Hill, 6 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 12 — Sutherlin, 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 21 — at Sisters Tournament
Saturday, Oct. 5 — at Junction City Tournament
Saturday, Oct. 19 — at Marshfield Tournament
Sky-Em League
Thursday, Sept. 19 — at Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 24 — Marist Catholic, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 26 — at Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 1 — Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 3 — at Junction City, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 8 — Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 10 — at Marist Catholic, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 15 — Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 17 — at Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 22 — Junction City, 6:30 p.m.

2019 SIUSLAW VARSITY ROSTER

  1 Lindsey Long, 5-2 junior, defensive specialist
  2 Hayden Muller, 5-2 sophomore, libero
  3 Hailee Outlaw, 5-8 freshman, setter
  5 Mia Collins, 6-0 senior, outside hitter
  6 Desi Tupua, 5-8 freshman, middle blocker
  7 Delaney Foglio, 5-8 junior, middle blocker
  9 Zoe Alberty, 5-7 sophomore, setter
10 Elissa Hurley, 5-8 senior, right side
11 Kya Blake, 5-9 junior, outside hitter




IMAGE GALLERY



MORE STORIES

Making her final splash as a Brave-Viking

Siuslaw senior Sydney Robison completes her career as a member of the Reedsport/Siuslaw co-op team.

Siuslaw cheerleaders finish eighth at state

Vikings' six-member team puts in a penalty-free performance in Portland.

Vikings overcome slow start at Elmira, 49-38

Siuslaw hosts Junction City on Tuesday on senior recognition night at Glenn Butler Court.

Elmira's late free throws cost Lady Vikings

Falcons shoot 10 free throws in the final minute, sinking seven, to hold of Lady Vikings, 49-42.