Vikings JV to open season Monday, Sept. 9


The Siuslaw Vikings junior varsity football team will kick off its season at 5:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 9, against Elmira at Hans Petersen Memorial Field.

The game had been scheduled for Thursday, Sept. 5, but a change was announced Tuesday.

The junior Vikings will play five home games, including Philomath on Sept. 16, Marshfield on Sept. 30, Santiam Christian on Oct. 4 and Sutherlin on Nov. 4, the season finale.

The four road games include Newport Sept. 23, Harrisburg Oct. 7, Pleasant Hill Oct. 21 and La Pine Oct. 28.

Siuslaw played six games last season, winning at least four and losing one. One game was posted on the school's Oregon School Activities Association website as DONE, with no score.

The Vikings beat Newport 32-6, Santiam Christian 42-20, Pleasant Hill 40-14 and La Pine 58-12. Siuslaw dropped its 2018 season opener to Philomath/Alsea, 33-12.

2019 SIUSLAW JV FOOTBALL SCHEDULE
Home games at Hans Petersen Memorial Field
Monday, Sept. 9 — Elmira, 5:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 16 — Philomath, 5:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 23 — at Newport, 5:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 30 — at Marshfield, cancelled
Monday, Oct. 7 — at Harrisburg, 5:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 14 — Santiam Christian, 5:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 21 — at Pleasant Hill, 5 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 28 — at La Pine, 5 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 4 — Sutherlin, 5:30 p.m.




MORE STORIES

Making her final splash as a Brave-Viking

Siuslaw senior Sydney Robison completes her career as a member of the Reedsport/Siuslaw co-op team.

Siuslaw cheerleaders finish eighth at state

Vikings' six-member team puts in a penalty-free performance in Portland.

Vikings overcome slow start at Elmira, 49-38

Siuslaw hosts Junction City on Tuesday on senior recognition night at Glenn Butler Court.

Elmira's late free throws cost Lady Vikings

Falcons shoot 10 free throws in the final minute, sinking seven, to hold of Lady Vikings, 49-42.