Lady Vikings open league play on Thursday


The Siuslaw Vikings volleyball team will be tested right away as Sky-Em League play tips off Thursday night.

The Lady Vikings will be at Cottage Grove, facing the defending league champion. First serve is 6:30 p.m.

In other matches Thursday, Marshfield is at Junction City and Elmira at Marist Catholic.

Cottage Grove dominated the league last season, finishing 9-1 in league and 19-5 overall, eventually losing to Valley Catholic in the Class 4A state championship match, 3-2.

Siuslaw, in its first season back in the Sky-Em League, was a fifth-place 2-8 in league and 9-11 overall, failing to make the state playoffs for the first time under head coach Jonathan Hornung, now in his fourth season.

The Lady Lions appear less ferocious this season at 3-4, including a 3-1 loss Tuesday at No. 2-ranked Hidden Valley.

Siuslaw enters league play at 3-2, sandwiching a pair of 3-2 losses to North Bend and Sutherlin around consecutive sweeps of Bandon, Douglas and Pleasant Hill.

Cottage Grove currently is ranked No. 13 in 4A by the Oregon School Activities Association, while Siuslaw is No. 17.

Saturday, both the Lady Vikings and the Lady Lions are entered in a tournament at Sisters.

Tuesday, Siuslaw hosts Marist Catholic at 6:30 p.m. at Glenn Butler Court in the Lady Vikings' home league opener.

2019 SIUSLAW SCHEDULE
Record:
3-2 overall, 0-0 Sky-Em League, 3-2 nonleague
Nonleague
Thursday, Aug. 29 — at North Bend 3, Siuslaw 2 (16-25, 25-18, 19-25, 25-19, 15-13)
Friday, Aug. 30 — Siuslaw 3, Bandon 0 (25-15, 25-12, 25-10)
Friday, Aug. 30 — Siuslaw 3, Douglas 0 (25-20, 25-14, 25-11)
Thursday, Sept. 5 — Siuslaw 3, at Pleasant Hill 0 (25-23, 25-21, 25-10)
Thursday, Sept. 12 — Sutherlin 3, at Siuslaw 2 (25-27, 25-21, 22-25, 25-22, 15-13)
Saturday, Sept. 21 — at Sisters Tournament
Saturday, Oct. 5 — at Junction City Tournament
Saturday, Oct. 19 — at Marshfield Tournament
Sky-Em League
Thursday, Sept. 19 — at Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 24 — Marist Catholic, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 26 — at Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 1 — Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 3 — at Junction City, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 8 — Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 10 — at Marist Catholic, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 15 — Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 17 — at Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 22 — Junction City, 6:30 p.m.

2019 SIUSLAW VARSITY ROSTER

  1 Lindsey Long, 5-2 junior, defensive specialist
  2 Hayden Muller, 5-2 sophomore, libero
  3 Hailee Outlaw, 5-8 freshman, setter
  5 Mia Collins, 6-0 senior, outside hitter
  6 Desi Tupua, 5-8 freshman, middle blocker
  7 Delaney Foglio, 5-8 junior, middle blocker
  9 Zoe Alberty, 5-7 sophomore, setter
10 Elissa Hurley, 5-8 senior, right side
11 Kya Blake, 5-9 junior, outside hitter




MORE STORIES

North Bend asks OSAA to return to Class 4A

Executive Board to address 2019-20 girls wrestling special districts and 2020 fall special districts...

Vikings take to the mats Friday at Harrisburg

Siuslaw one of 16 schools entered in Deven Dawson Memorial Tournament.

Cubs cuff Vikings in season opener, 68-48

Siuslaw plays Friday at Pleasant Hill, hosts Sutherlin on Tuesday.

Newport tops Lady Vikings in opener, 51-37

Siuslaw plays Friday at Pleasant Hill, hosts Sutherlin on Tuesday.