Siuslaw second to Marist Catholic at state

Sky-Em champs: Anne Wartnik, Gracie Freudenthal, Brea Blankenship, Hannah Rannow, Chloe Madden, Rylee Colton, Bryn Clement.

Marist Catholic turned the tables on Siuslaw to capture the Oregon School Activities Association Class 4A girls cross country title at Lane Community College in Eugene.

The Lady Vikings, who beat Marist Catholic by one point in the Sky-Em League championships, were second, led by third-place finisher Hannah Rannow, a senior.

"Hannah had a great performance," Siuslaw coach Chris Johnson said. "The girls field was loaded and she raced hard and smart.

"Also, a huge PR for Chloe Madden. She really came on at the end of the year."

Marist Catholic scored 50 points and Siuslaw 71. Philomath was third with 112, Tillamook fourth with 116 and Stayton fifth with 141.

Marist Catholic scored 70 and Siuslaw 73 to finish 1-2 in the 2018 state final.

Sisters freshman Ella Thorsett won the individual title with a personal record of 17 minutes, 43.7 seconds for the 5,000 meters, followed by Junction City junior Anika Thompson in 18:05.3 and Rannow in a season-best 18:34.0.

Marist Catholic senior Lucy Tsai was fourth in a PR 18:39.2 and teammate Jennifer Tsai, a sophomore, fifth in a PR 18:46.5.

Other Siuslaw finishers included Rylee Colton in 19:44.0, Brea Blankenship in 19:52.0, Chloe Madden in a PR 19:54.0, Gracie Freudenthal in 20:17.1, Anne Wartnik in 20:17.7 and Bryn Clement in a PR 22:12.1.

Defending state champion Solace Bergeron, a Tillamook senior, was 12th in a season-best 19:20.5. She won in 2018 in 18:32, with Thompson second in 18:59. Rannow as fourth in 19:02.

Lady Vikings' season bests entering state:

  • Hannah Rannow, senior, 18:35.2 (Paul Mariman; PR 18:33.2 in 2018 Sky-Em)
  • Rylee Colton, sophomore, PR 19:32.8 (Sky-Em)
  • Brea Blankenship, junior, 19:46.5 (Sky-Em; PR 19:32.6 in 2018 Sky-Em)
  • Gracie Freudenthal, junior, PR 19:50.4 (Sky-Em)
  • Chloe Madden, senior, 20:06.5 (Sky-Em; PR 20:03.4 in 2018 Sky-Em)
  • Anne Wartnik, senior, PR 20:13.4 (Paul Mariman Invitational)
  • Bryn Clement, senior, PR 22:12.6 (Sky-Em)


Burns easily won the 3A/2A/1A girls final with 43 points. Union/Cove was second with 110, Catlin Gabel third with 121 and Bandon fourth with 122.

Catlin Gabel senior Lila Fenner won in 18:49.2, followed by Neah-Kah-Nie sophomore Jordan White in a PR 18:54.4 and Burns freshman Brooke Smith in a PR 18:59.3.

Finals for 5A and 6A girls were later in the day.


Vikings star Rannow signs with Oregon St.

2020 Siuslaw graduate will run cross country and track and field for the Beavers.

Vikings name their cheer team for 2020-21

Roster of 10 student-athletes includes six who were eighth at state last school year.

Miller Softball League opens Wednesday

Four teams play 18 games each over nine Wednesdays at Miller Park.

Vikings plan first practice for Wednesday

Strength and conditioning workouts scheduled from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. starting July 1.