Bandon tops Lady Vikings for title, 51-24


Bandon's girls basketball team beat Siuslaw 51-24 Saturday to claim the championship trophy in the Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational.

The Lady Vikings, 1-10 for the season, next host Taft at 5:45 p.m. Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.

Bandon, 11-1 and ranked No. 7 in Class 2A, opens Sunset Conference play Tuesday with a home game against Waldport.

Saturday, Bandon bolted to a 13-5 lead after the first quarter and built a 32-13 halftime advantage.

Siuslaw held Bandon scoreless the first seven minutes of the second half, but only shaved a point off the lead heading into the fourth quarter, trailing 36-18.

The Bandon boys made it a sweep for the host school, beating East Linn Christian Academy 57-38 in their championship game.

NOTE

Siuslaw senior Mia Collins is featured as Artist of the Month on Page 23B of Saturday's Siuslaw News. ... The basketball-volleyball standout says she is being recruited to play volleyball at the college level. ...

SIUSLAW GIRLS 2019-20 SCHEDULE
Record: 1-10 overall, 0-0 Sky-Em League
Nonleague
Wednesday, Dec. 4 — Newport 51, at Siuslaw 37 (Gracie Freudenthal 12, Mia Collins 10)
Friday, Dec. 6 — at Pleasant Hill 48, Siuslaw 20 (Gracie Freudenthal 8, Mia Collins 6)
Tuesday, Dec. 10 — Sutherlin 64, at Siuslaw 29 (Brea Blankenship 10, Savannah Morris 9)
Thursday, Dec. 12 — at Harrisburg 52, Siuslaw 33, Les Schwab Eagle Booster Club Invitational
Friday, Dec. 13 — Sweet Home 60, Siuslaw 55, at Harrisburg, Les Schwab Eagle Booster Club Invitational
Saturday, Dec. 14 — South Eugene 59, Siuslaw 26, Les Schwab Eagle Booster Club Invitational at Harrisburg/ Junction City
Wednesday, Dec. 18 — at Stayton 43, Siuslaw 18 (Mia Collins 12)
Friday, Dec. 20 — at South Umpqua 48, Siuslaw 32 (Mia Collins 11, Brea Blankenship 9)
Friday, Dec. 27 — Douglas 51, at Siuslaw 25 (Brea Blankenship 8, Mia Collins 8)
Friday, Jan. 3 — Siuslaw 37, East Linn Christian Academy (Lebanon, Ore.) 26, Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational
Saturday, Jan. 4 — Bandon 51, Siuslaw 24, Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational
Tuesday, Jan. 7 — Taft, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 10 — To be determined, Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover at Phoenix
Saturday, Jan. 11 — To be determined, Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover at Phoenix
Sky-Em League
Friday, Jan. 17 — at Cottage Grove, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 21 — Marist Catholic, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 24 — Marshfield, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 28 — Elmira, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 — at Junction City, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 4 — Cottage Grove, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 7 — at Marist Catholic, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11 — at Marshfield, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 14 — at Elmira, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18 — Junction City, 5:45 p.m.

SIUSLAW GIRLS VARSITY ROSTER
Number, athlete, height, grade
  0 Lindsey Long, 5-3, junior
  2 Savannah Morris, 5-5, senior
  4 Brea Blankenship, 5-3, junior
  5 Mia Collins, 6-1, senior
11 Kelsey Larson, 5-4, senior
12 Brooklyn Cahoon, 5-2, senior
13 Maggie Manning, 5-6, sophomore
14 Gracie Freudenthal, 5-8, junior
21 Maisie Jones, 5-8, sophomore
23 Lizbeth Garcia, 5-2, junior
25 Gracie Perkins, 5-5, sophomore
33 Brittany Rodriguez, 5-7, senior
Coach: Ashlee Cole (first year)

SIUSLAW GIRLS JV ROSTER
Number, athlete, height, grade
  2 Gabriella Jarman, 5-4, freshman
  3 Kassandra Dietrich, 5-2, sophomore
  4 Faith Lumadue, 5-4, freshman
  5 Ava GÅ‚owacki, 5-5, freshman
11 Denali Sleeper, 5-6, freshman
12 Bethanee Fontenot, 5-2, junior
13 Maggie Manning, 5-6, sophomore
14 Paige Prociw, 5-7, freshman
21 Maisie Jones, 5-8, sophomore
22 Mary Fontenot, 5-5, sophomore
23 Haylee Cole, 5-5, freshman
24 Gillian Norton, 5-11, freshman
25 Gracie Perkins, 5-5, freshman
30 Faith Coday, 5-10, junior
33 Jasmine Bledsoe, 5-9, freshman
Coach: Sara Truax




MORE STORIES

Siuslaw secures Nick Lutz Invitational title

Vikings' Yoskar Delamora, Mason Buss and Elijah LaCosse all win individual titles.

Lady Vikings' Overton, Muller win titles

Dual leads Siuslaw girls to fourth-place finish in 16-school Nick Lutz Invitational.

Cottage Grove beats Lady Vikings, 63-31

Siuslaw next hosts Marist Catholic on Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.

Vikings clip Lions on last-second shot in OT

Siuslaw next hosts Marist Catholic at 5:45 p.m. Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.