North Valley holds off Lady Vikings, 28-24


North Valley edged the Siuslaw Vikings 28-24 Saturday as the Skyline League swept all six games in the Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover girls basketball tournament in Phoenix.

Siuslaw ended preleague play 1-13. The Lady Vikings open Sky-Em League play Friday at Cottage Grove.

Tipoff is scheduled for 7:15 p.m. and the game will be broadcast by Coast Radio.

North Valley hosts Phoenix in their Skyline League opener Friday.

In other Sky-Em League openers Friday, Elmira is at Marist Catholic and Marshfield at Junction City.

SKY-EM/SKYLINE CROSSOVER
Girls, at Phoenix
Friday, Jan. 10
Phoenix 58, Siuslaw 33
Mazama 43, Marist Catholic 39, OT
Cottage Grove 46, Henley 25
North Valley 49, Elmira 41
Hidden Valley 54, Junction City 30
Marshfield 37, Klamath Union 33
Saturday, Jan. 11
North Valley 28, Siuslaw 24
Klamath Union 45, Marist Catholic 40
Phoenix 41, Elmira 37
Hidden Valley 39, Cottage Grove 27
Henley 39, Junction City 26
Mazama 43, Marshfield 27

SIUSLAW GIRLS 2019-20 SCHEDULE
Record: 1-13 overall, 0-0 Sky-Em League
Sky-Em League
Friday, Jan. 17 — at Cottage Grove, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 21 — Marist Catholic, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 24 — Marshfield, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 28 — Elmira, 7:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 — at Junction City, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 4 — Cottage Grove, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 7 — at Marist Catholic, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 11 — at Marshfield, 5:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 14 — at Elmira, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18 — Junction City, 5:45 p.m.
Nonleague
Wednesday, Dec. 4 — Newport 51, at Siuslaw 37 (Gracie Freudenthal 12, Mia Collins 10)
Friday, Dec. 6 — at Pleasant Hill 48, Siuslaw 20 (Gracie Freudenthal 8, Mia Collins 6)
Tuesday, Dec. 10 — Sutherlin 64, at Siuslaw 29 (Brea Blankenship 10, Savannah Morris 9)
Thursday, Dec. 12 — at Harrisburg 52, Siuslaw 33, Les Schwab Eagle Booster Club Invitational
Friday, Dec. 13 — Sweet Home 60, Siuslaw 55, at Harrisburg, Les Schwab Eagle Booster Club Invitational
Saturday, Dec. 14 — South Eugene 59, Siuslaw 26, Les Schwab Eagle Booster Club Invitational at Harrisburg/ Junction City
Wednesday, Dec. 18 — at Stayton 43, Siuslaw 18 (Mia Collins 12)
Friday, Dec. 20 — at South Umpqua 48, Siuslaw 32 (Mia Collins 11, Brea Blankenship 9)
Friday, Dec. 27 — Douglas 51, at Siuslaw 25 (Brea Blankenship 8, Mia Collins 8)
Friday, Jan. 3 — Siuslaw 37, East Linn Christian Academy (Lebanon, Ore.) 26, Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational
Saturday, Jan. 4 — Bandon 51, Siuslaw 24, Bandon Dunes Holiday Invitational
Tuesday, Jan. 7 — Taft 43, at Siuslaw 32 (Lindsey Long 8, Kelsey Larson 8)
Friday, Jan. 10 — at Phoenix 58, Siuslaw 33, Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover
Saturday, Jan. 11 — North Valley 28, Siuslaw 24, Sky-Em/Skyline Crossover at Phoenix

SIUSLAW GIRLS VARSITY ROSTER
Number, athlete, height, grade
  0 Lindsey Long, 5-3, junior
  2 Savannah Morris, 5-5, senior
  4 Brea Blankenship, 5-3, junior
  5 Mia Collins, 6-1, senior
11 Kelsey Larson, 5-4, senior
12 Brooklyn Cahoon, 5-2, senior
13 Maggie Manning, 5-6, sophomore
14 Gracie Freudenthal, 5-8, junior
21 Maisie Jones, 5-8, sophomore
23 Lizbeth Garcia, 5-2, junior
25 Gracie Perkins, 5-5, sophomore
33 Brittany Rodriguez, 5-7, senior
Coach: Ashlee Cole (first year)

SIUSLAW GIRLS JV ROSTER
Number, athlete, height, grade
  2 Gabriella Jarman, 5-4, freshman
  3 Kassandra Dietrich, 5-2, sophomore
  4 Faith Lumadue, 5-4, freshman
  5 Ava GÅ‚owacki, 5-5, freshman
11 Denali Sleeper, 5-6, freshman
12 Bethanee Fontenot, 5-2, junior
13 Maggie Manning, 5-6, sophomore
14 Paige Prociw, 5-7, freshman
21 Maisie Jones, 5-8, sophomore
22 Mary Fontenot, 5-5, sophomore
23 Haylee Cole, 5-5, freshman
24 Gillian Norton, 5-11, freshman
25 Gracie Perkins, 5-5, freshman
30 Faith Coday, 5-10, junior
33 Jasmine Bledsoe, 5-9, freshman
Coach: Sara Truax




MORE STORIES

Siuslaw secures Nick Lutz Invitational title

Vikings' Yoskar Delamora, Mason Buss and Elijah LaCosse all win individual titles.

Lady Vikings' Overton, Muller win titles

Dual leads Siuslaw girls to fourth-place finish in 16-school Nick Lutz Invitational.

Cottage Grove beats Lady Vikings, 63-31

Siuslaw next hosts Marist Catholic on Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.

Vikings clip Lions on last-second shot in OT

Siuslaw next hosts Marist Catholic at 5:45 p.m. Tuesday at Glenn Butler Court.