Siuslaw captures Sky-Em Dual Meet title

The Siuslaw Vikings wrestling team captured the Sky-Em Dual Meet Championship on Thursday at Glenn Butler Court.

Siuslaw was first, Marshfield second, Cottage Grove third, Junction City fourth and Elmira fifth. Marist does not field a team.

"We have never hosted a league dual meet championship," Siuslaw coach Neil Wartnik said. "It was an opportunity for us to grow as a team in many ways. 

"And the Viking squad responded so well. Even those who were unable to compete due to sickness or injury contributed in meaningful ways, helping with the scoring, and administration of matches."

"To be able to win despite being less prepared than I'd like the team to be was a major accomplishment."

The Vikings won three of their four matches, 57-22 over Cottage Grove, 36-24 over Elmira and 42-27 over Junction City. Marshfield was also 3-1, its lone loss 42-39 to Cottage Grove.

"Our performance was a true team effort," Wartnik said. "We got big wins from many new and young team members — in particular against Cottage Grove, notably Wilson Zhen, Jacob Welton, Joel Sissel, and Aiden Armstrong.

"Mainstays in the team's success were Yoskar De La Mora, Leonardo Robertson, and Hunter Petterson in the lighter weights, and John Corser, Mason Buss, Joel Sissel, Dayne Muller, and Cort Waggoner.

"Our crew won many matches by coming from behind. They had grit and tenacity.We are still not where we want to be. So many team members missed practices over break due to travel, sickness, and injury. Hopefully we can get in shape and make a few needed adjustments." 

The five Sky-Em League schools are in two 4A special districts — Siuslaw, Elmira/Crow and Junction City in District 2 and Marshfield and Cottage Grove in District 3.

Siuslaw freshman Macali Cade pinned Kayla Hayes of Marshfield in 3 minutes, 3 seconds in the truncated girls competition.

The Lady Vikings had on six matches overall, with Cade going 1-0, Madison Petterson 0-2 and Rosa Velasco Mendez 0-3.

The Vikings are scheduled to compete Saturday in the King of the Hill Tournament at Pleasant Hill.


Siuslaw 57, Cottage Grove 22
106 — Alex Neiss (Cottage Grove) won by forfeit
113 — Wilson Zhen (Siuslaw) over Seazar Ibarra (Cottage Grove) Fall 3:14
120 — Jackson Howard (Cottage Grove) over Madison Petterson (Siuslaw) Fall 1:48
126 — Yoskar Delamora (Siuslaw) over Cian Merz (Cottage Grove) Dec 10-5
132 — Ryan Clark (Siuslaw) over Carter Bengston (Cottage Grove) Fall 1:27
138 — Leonardo Robertson (Siuslaw) over Logan Lowrey (Cottage Grove) Fall 2:22
145 — Hunter Petterson (Siuslaw) over Lincoln Krasinski (Cottage Grove) Fall 0:29
152 — Jacob Welton (Siuslaw) over Micah Spear (Cottage Grove) Fall 1:51
160 — John Corser (Siuslaw) over Ronin Soulard (Cottage Grove) Fall 1:14
170 — Mason Buss (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
182 — Joel Sissel (Siuslaw) over Rogelio Soto-Cruz (Cottage Grove) Fall 5:46
195 — Dayne Muller (Siuslaw) over Malaky Barr (Cottage Grove) Fall 1:45
220 — Cole Johns (Cottage Grove) over Cort Waggoner (Siuslaw) Maj 13-0
285 — Nathan Abrams (Cottage Grove) over Aiden Armstrong (Siuslaw) Fall 0:52

Siuslaw 36, Elmira 24
106 — Double Forfeit
113 — Wilson Zhen (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
120 — Double Forfeit
126 — Yoskar Delamora (Siuslaw) over Liberty Barklow (Elmira) Forf
132 — Ryan Clark (Siuslaw) over Noah Sawyer (Elmira) Fall 5:03
138 — Enrico Cervantez (Elmira) over Leonardo Robertson (Siuslaw) Dec 4-2
145 — Ian Drago (Elmira) over Hunter Petterson (Siuslaw) Dec 12-11
152 — Seth Drago (Elmira) over Jacob Welton (Siuslaw) Fall 0:32
160 — Ruben Fox (Elmira) over John Corser (Siuslaw) Fall 1:39
170 — Mason Buss (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
182 — Joel Sissel (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
195 — Double Forfeit
220 — Dayne Muller (Siuslaw) over Luke Wolgamott (Elmira) Fall 1:56
285 — Brett Highburger (Elmira) over Cort Waggoner (Siuslaw) Fall 2:58

Marshfield 42, Siuslaw 27
106 — Double Forfeit
113 — Reese Hite (Marshfield) over Wilson Zhen (Siuslaw) Fall 3:25
120 — David Bouska (Marshfield) won by forfeit
126 — Double Forfeit
132 — Yoskar Delamora (Siuslaw) over Rowdy Lewis (Marshfield) Dec 14-7
138 — Leonardo Robertson (Siuslaw) over Riley Murphy (Marshfield) Fall 1:28
145 — Chris Thomas (Marshfield) over Talin Loomis (Siuslaw) Fall 1:06
152 — Jonathan Calvert (Marshfield) over Jacob Welton (Siuslaw) Fall 0:48
160 — John Corser (Siuslaw) over Wyatt Petley (Marshfield) Fall 1:31
170 — Mason Buss (Siuslaw) over Nathan Jester (Marshfield) Fall 0:44
182 — Joel Sissel (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
195 — Miguel Velazquez (Marshfield) over Dayne Muller (Siuslaw) Fall 0:30
220 — Hayden Murphy (Marshfield) over Cort Waggoner (Siuslaw) Fall 2:29
285 — Kristopher Campbell (Marshfield) over Aiden Armstrong (Siuslaw) Fall 3:06

Siuslaw 42, Junction City 27
106 — Double Forfeit
113 — Wilson Zhen (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
120 — Jayden Stewart (Junction City) won by forfeit
126 — Yoskar Delamora (Siuslaw) over Trevin Truesdell (Junction City) Fall 5:30
132 — Ryan Clark (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
138 — Leonardo Robertson (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
145 — Hunter Petterson (Siuslaw) over Bodee Haddy (Junction City) Fall 1:47
152 — Double Forfeit
160 — Tanner Fleury (Junction City) over John Corser (Siuslaw) Fall 0:52
170 — Carson Henderson (Junction City) over Mason Buss (Siuslaw) Dec 3-2
182 — Emmett Henderson (Junction City) over Joel Sissel (Siuslaw) Fall 0:34
195 — Dayne Muller (Siuslaw) won by forfeit
220 — Cort Waggoner (Siuslaw) over Ladarius Reed (Junction City) Fall 3:51
285 — Hunter Davis (Junction City) won by forfeit

Round 1
Marshfield defeated Junction City 48-24
Cottage Grove defeated Elmira 48-33
Siuslaw bye
Round 2
Siuslaw defeated Cottage Grove 57-22
Junction City defeated Elmira 33-30
Marshfield bye
Round 3
Siuslaw defeated Elmira 36-24
Cottage Grove defeated Marshfield 42-39
Junction City bye
Round 4
Marshfield defeated Siuslaw 42-27
Cottage Grove defeated Junction City 42-39
Elmira bye
Round 5
Siuslaw defeated Junction City 42-27
Marshfield defeated Elmira 30-24
Cottage Grove bye

Saturday, Jan. 8 — King of the Hill, Pleasant Hill, 10 a.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 12 — Conference Duals at Philomath, 6 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 15 — Nick Lutz Memorial Tournament at Siuslaw, 9:30 a.m.
Thursday, Jan. 20 — at Junction City Three-Way Meet, 5 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, Jan. 21-22 — at Bay City Duals, Marshfield
Wednesday, Jan. 26 — Conference Duals at Elmira
Saturday, Jan. 29 — at Newport, 4 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 3 — vs. Stayton, Glenn Butler Court, 6 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, Feb. 11-12 — District 2 Regional at Siuslaw
Friday-Saturday, Feb. 25-26 — OSAA State Championships, Cascade High School, Turner

Freshmen 9
Jordan Albin, 152
Aiden Armstrong, 285
Ty Bond, 138
Ryan Clark, 126
Macali Lade, 120
Talin Loomis, 138
Wesley Nicholls, 132
Leonardo Robertson, 145
Joel Sissel, 170
Sophomores 7
Makayla Freeman, 140
River Howell, 220
Dayne Muller, 135
Daniel Petrovic, 220
Deegan Smith, 152
Rosa Velasco-Mendez, 130
Cort Waggoner, 220
Juniors 8
Mason Buss, 170
Yoskar De la Mora, 120
Cayden Gray, 120
Lucian Murphy, 160
Chance O'Brien, 220
Hunter Petterson, 138
Madison Petterson, 110
Jacob Welton, 138
Seniors 8
John Corser, 152
Dante Galli, 182
Jesus Garcia 182
JC Gentry, 285
Jessie Hoover, 100
Hayden Muller, 135
Brooke Olson, 135
Bailey Overton, 120
Coach: Neil Wartnik
Assistants: Chris Rupp, Chris LaCosse, Robert Forsythe, Stecher Buss, Ryan Jennings, Elijah LaCosse


Vikings sport 142 student-athletes this fall

OSAA may double pay for officials starting next year; volleyball coaching opening; booster club, Hall...

SMS Vikings nearly fill their coaching roster

School still needs assistant football coach and head wrestling coach for 2022-23.

Vikings hope to ride seniors to another title

First practice begins for defending state champion Siuslaw, with home and season opener Sept. 2 vs. Newport.

OSAA wants you for fall sports officiating

Register at; find the nearest officials association at