Baseball assessments Saturday and Sunday


Youth baseball player assessments will be Saturday and Sunday at Siuslaw High School, the Siuslaw Baseball Softball Association announced.

Assessments are for Rookies (ages 7-8), Minors (9-10) and Majors (11-12), with the age cutoff date May 1.

Coaches and SBSA board members will conduct a draft Tuesday until all players are assigned to a team.

There is no draft for T-Ball (ages 5-6) and for softball (ages 7-18).

Rookies assessments are noon to 1:30 p.m. Saturday and 1 p.m. to 1:45 p.m. Sunday.

Minors assessments are 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Saturday and 1:45 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. Sunday.

Majors assessment are 10:30 p.m. to noon Saturday and 2:30 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. Sunday.

A coaches meeting for baseball and softball is 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 28, at Siuslaw High School.

The last day for late baseball registration is Friday, March 8. Fee is $65 for T-Ball and $75 for other leagues.

Baseball games and softball practice both begin the first week of April.

More information is online at https://tshq.bluesombrero.com/siuslawbaseballor?fbclid=IwAR1qykQVP_ndojeVgRKgFSxN4tiTW9uaB53i5yQ6FNTkftR_cA7FjDRR52E

DATES

  • Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 23-24 — Baseball player assessments for Rookies, Minors and Majors at Siuslaw High School.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 26 — Draft of players.
  • Thursday, Feb. 28 — SBSA coaches meeting, 7 p.m., Siuslaw High School.
  • Friday, March 8 — Last day to receive approved late registrations.
  • Thursday, March 14 — Team Mom meeting, 6 p.m., Siuslaw High school.
  • Saturday, March 16 — Field Day at Miller Park.
  • March 23-31 — Spring break, practices optional
  • Week of April 2 — First week of competitive play for baseball.
  • Saturday, April 27 — Saturday at Miller Park featuring Pitch, Hit & Run Contest, team photos and 100-Inning Game Day.
  • Monday, April 29 — Softball 18-under meeting and registration, to be announced.
  • Saturday, May 4 — First week of competitive play for softball.
  • Wednesday, May 8 — First round of All-Star Baseball assessments, to be announced
  • Saturday, May 11 — Second round of All-Star Baseball assessments, to be announced.
  • Monday, May 13 — Mandatory All-Star Baseball meeting and registration, $100/player, Miller Park, 7:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 20 — Softball 18-under practice begins (summer travel ball), $100/player; tournaments start in June and end in August.
  • Tuesday, June 4 — Closing ceremonies and distribution of 100-Inning Game prizes, 6 p.m., Siuslaw Middle School gym.
  • June 8-14 — Field Maintenance Week at Miller Park to prep for tournaments.
  • Saturday-Sunday, June 15-16 — SBSA Rick & Corrine Gehlke All-Star Baseball Tournament.
  • Saturday-Sunday, June 22-23 — SBSA Rick $ Corrine Gehlke All-Star Softball Tournament.




MORE STORIES

Lady Viking sophomores sizzle in Icebreaker

Siuslaw's Brea Blankenship (800) and Gracie Freudenthal (300 hurdles) post 4A state bests.

Lady Vikings host Newport in season opener

Siuslaw will face four teams from last season's 4A quarterfinals (Newport, Stayton, Marist Catholic,...

Vikings will defend title at Bandon Dunes

Siuslaw hosts Newport on Wednesday, Dec. 4, to open 2019-20 season.

Bake sale to benefit Vikings soccer program

SYSA to hold both the sale and cleat exchange from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Thursday at Pacific Frameworks.