Vikings add Clatskanie to 2019 schedule


The Siuslaw Vikings have added a ninth game to their 2019 season, and their fifth on the road.

The Vikings will play Sept. 27 at Clatskanie, a fellow 3A school some 35 miles east of Astoria.

Clatskanie is 4 hours from Florence and a 225-mile one-way trip via I-5, according to Google.

The Tigers play in Special District 1 West with Rainier, Amity, Willamina, Dayton and Taft.

Clatskanie finished last season 7-4 overall, 3-2 (third) in league and ranked No. 8.

The Tigers won at Santiam Christian in the first round of the playoffs, 26-3, then lost at Rainier, 18-7, in the quarterfinals.

First practice for the 2019 season is Monday, Aug. 19.

2019 VIKINGS SCHEDULE
Friday, Aug. 30
— Jamboree (Pleasant Hill, Siuslaw, team to be announced), Hans Petersen Field, 5 p.m.
Friday, Sept.6 — at Elmira, 7 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 13 — at Philomath, 7 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 20 — Newport, 7 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 27 — at Clatskanie, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 4 — Harrisburg, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 11 — at Santiam Christian, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 18 — Pleasant Hill, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 25 — La Pine, 7 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 1 — at Sutherlin, 7 p.m.




MORE STORIES

Lady Viking sophomores sizzle in Icebreaker

Siuslaw's Brea Blankenship (800) and Gracie Freudenthal (300 hurdles) post 4A state bests.

Lady Vikings host Newport in season opener

Siuslaw will face four teams from last season's 4A quarterfinals (Newport, Stayton, Marist Catholic,...

Vikings will defend title at Bandon Dunes

Siuslaw hosts Newport on Wednesday, Dec. 4, to open 2019-20 season.

Bake sale to benefit Vikings soccer program

SYSA to hold both the sale and cleat exchange from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Thursday at Pacific Frameworks.