Vikings add Clatskanie to 2019 schedule


The Siuslaw Vikings have added a ninth game to their 2019 season, and their fifth on the road.

The Vikings will play Sept. 27 at Clatskanie, a fellow 3A school some 35 miles east of Astoria.

Clatskanie is 4 hours from Florence and a 225-mile one-way trip via I-5, according to Google.

The Tigers play in Special District 1 West with Rainier, Amity, Willamina, Dayton and Taft.

Clatskanie finished last season 7-4 overall, 3-2 (third) in league and ranked No. 8.

The Tigers won at Santiam Christian in the first round of the playoffs, 26-3, then lost at Rainier, 18-7, in the quarterfinals.

First practice for the 2019 season is Monday, Aug. 19.

2019 VIKINGS SCHEDULE
Friday, Aug. 30
— Jamboree (Pleasant Hill, Siuslaw, team to be announced), Hans Petersen Field, 5 p.m.
Friday, Sept.6 — at Elmira, 7 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 13 — at Philomath, 7 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 20 — Newport, 7 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 27 — at Clatskanie, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 4 — Harrisburg, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 11 — at Santiam Christian, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 18 — Pleasant Hill, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 25 — La Pine, 7 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 1 — at Sutherlin, 7 p.m.




MORE STORIES

Trent Reavis third in both shot put, discus

Siuslaw graduate also has a personal best in the hammer at Northwest Athletic Conference championships.

Vikings salute letterwinners, all-league picks

INCLUDED: Siuslaw's tentative 21-game schedule for the 2020 season.

Conlee, Soran stepping down from SABC

Siuslaw Athletic Booster Club will need to fill several positions for 2019-20 school year.

Vikings fan? Here are 3 great events for you

Booster club meeting, auction-dinner planning committee meeting and benefit car wash all on the docket...