Vikings' season opener will be a home game


Gabe Simington, a Mapleton senior, stars his fourth season with the Vikings

It's said the best thing about freshmen is they become sophomores, and Siuslaw Vikings baseball coach Tom Shinn has some good sophomores.

Unlike last spring, Shinn's first with the Vikings, Siuslaw has no freshmen on its 11-player roster.

And nine of those players have varsity experience, which will be on display Wednesday when the Vikings open their season against Harrisburg.

First pitch is 4:30 p.m.

The game had been scheduled at Harrisburg, but was moved Tuesday.

Siuslawfollows Thursday against Sutherlin at Dodson Field. First pitch of the scheduled doubleheader is 3 p.m.

Returning sophomores are Elijah Blankenship, Clay Kramer and Dalton Stinger.

Juniors are Jared Northrop, Clayton Remilong, Caleb Hennessee and Zach Stinger.

Seniors are Tim Lowder and Gabe Simington.

Sophomore Chayton James and senior Jordan Taniguchi have been promoted from the junior varsity.

Coast Radio will broadcast the Sutherlin twin bill, starting at 2:45 p.m., with the veteran team Wayne Sharpe and Randy Paredes sharing duties.

Siuslaw was 4-19 overall last season and 2-13 in its last swings in the Far West League.

VIKINGS VARSITY ROSTER
Sophomores
  2 Chayton James, 6-0, outfielder, infielder
  4 Elijah Blankenship, 5-6, catcher, infielder
  7 Clay Kramer, 6-1, outfielder, right-handed pitcher
21 Dalton Stinger, 6-1, right-handed pitcher, utility
Juniors
  1 Jared Northrop, 5-6, right-handed pitcher, shortstop
  3 Clayton Remilong, 5-8, outfielder, infielder
  8 Caleb Hennessee, 6-0, right-handed pitcher, infielder
10 Zach Stinger, 5-10, catcher, infielder
Seniors
17 Tim Lowder, 6-0, right-handed pitcher, utility
22 Jordan Taniguchi, 5-10, utility
34 Gabe Simington, 6-2, left-handed pitcher, first base
Coach: Tom Shinn
Assistants: Dirk Anderson, Conway Pebley

VIKINGS 2019 SCHEDULE
Record: 0-0 overall, 0-0 Sky-Em League
Nonleague
Wednesday, March 13 — Harrisburg, 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 14 — Sutherlin (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, March 19 — Pleasant Hill, 5 p.m.
Friday, March 22 — at Mazama, 4 p.m.
Saturday, March 23 — at Klamath Union (DH), 11 a.m.
Tuesday, March 26 — Neah-Kah-Nie, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, April 2 — Douglas (DH), 3 p.m.
Sky-Em League
Tuesday, April 9 — at Marist, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 12 — Junction City (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 16 — Cottage Grove, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 19 — at Elmira (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 23 — at Marshfield, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 26 — Marist (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 30 — at Junction City, 5 p.m.
Friday, May 3 — at Cottage Grove (DH), 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7 — Elmira, 5 p.m.
Friday, April 10 — Marshfield (DH), 3 p.m.

VIKINGS JV ROSTER
Freshmen
  2 Isaac Garza
  3 Jason Garcia
  4 Beau Erickson
  7 Ethan Halpin
  8 Ethan Aaron
10 Henry Rankin
21 Judiah Saindon
Sophomore
11 Anthony Jojola
Juniors
  1 Eryk Rottman
  9 Brandon Heckathorn
17 Ethan Price
34 Logan York
Coach: Dan Rankin




MORE STORIES

Lady Viking sophomores sizzle in Icebreaker

Siuslaw's Brea Blankenship (800) and Gracie Freudenthal (300 hurdles) post 4A state bests.

Lady Vikings host Newport in season opener

Siuslaw will face four teams from last season's 4A quarterfinals (Newport, Stayton, Marist Catholic,...

Vikings will defend title at Bandon Dunes

Siuslaw hosts Newport on Wednesday, Dec. 4, to open 2019-20 season.

Bake sale to benefit Vikings soccer program

SYSA to hold both the sale and cleat exchange from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Thursday at Pacific Frameworks.