Vikings' free 3-day camp tips off Monday


Jon Hornung

A free three-day preseason volleyball camp for middle- and high-school-aged players will be held this coming Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday (Aug. 12-14) at the Siuslaw High School main gym.

Sessions are from 9 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. each day. Parents will need to sign a liability form for their child to participate.

Coaches include Jon Hornung, Dan Bartlett and Lona Dengler from the high school and Tori Shubin and McKenzie Perry from the middle school.

Dengler, a Siuslaw graduate, was hired recently to coach the junior varsity team.

"I remember watching her play when she was in high school and she hasn't missed a beat," Hornung said. "She's a solid all around player.

"It's also been fun watching her coaching instincts mesh with what Dan and I do. She has a similar mind for the game, and her personality and approach to coaching compliments mine and Dan's very well."

Hornung will be starting his fourth season as head coach of the Vikings varsity.

This year's team features 6-foot senior Mia Collins, an outside hitter and middle blocker.

"I'm really excited to see what Mia is going to accomplish this year," Hornung said. "She's been embracing the role of senior, and I think could build upon the breakout season she had last year and truly be a force to be reckoned with."

Fall practice begins Monday, Aug. 19, for high school players and Monday, Aug. 26, for middle school players.

SIUSLAW VIKINGS 2019 SCHEDULE

  • Thursday, Aug. 29 — at North Bend, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 30 — Jamboree: Bandon, noon; Douglas, 4 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 5 — at Pleasant Hill, 6 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 12 — Sutherlin, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 19 — at Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m., Sky-Em League opener
  • Saturday, Sept. 21 — at Sisters Tournament
  • Tuesday, Sept. 24 — Marist Catholic, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 26 — at Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 1 — Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 3 — at Junction City, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 5 — at Junction City Tournament
  • Tuesday, Oct. 8 — Cottage Grove, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 10 — at Marist Catholic, 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 15 — Marshfield, 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 17 — at Elmira, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 19 — at Marshfield Tournament
  • Tuesday, Oct. 22 — Junction City, 6:30 p.m.



MORE STORIES

Bob Rannow qualifies for Boeing Classic

Florence golfer will tee up with such greats as John Daly, Fred Couples, Davis Love III, Mark O'Meara...

Vikings fans note: Sportsmanship required

New state law mandates OSAA and member schools rein in bad behavior at games.

Miller League tournament set for Saturday

Pool play games are 8 a.m., 9:30 a.m. and 11 a.m., followed by double-elimination championship play at...

Bob Rannow qualifies to qualify for classic

Florence golfer tees off Tuesday with goal of playing in Champions Tour's Boeing Classic Aug. 19-25.